dietitian approved

fuel your body. fuel your life

Slowcooker Quinoa Hot Breafast Cereal

on January 23, 2013

Image

 

Last night I finally used this recipe. I had been wanting to do this forever and I don’t know why I waited so long! I t took me 4 minutes to get everything in the slow cooker and turned on. So easy!

This morning I woke up to a hot, delicious bowl of hot cereal which I sprinkled with sliced almonds. The quinoa was nice and soft, so my infant daughter had this for breakfast as well. Double easy.

This cereal is packed with protein and antioxidants. Totally clean. No artificial colors, no preservatives, just nutrition. Premium Fuel.

I used fresh fruit, so the cereal came out very dark from the blueberries. Next time I think I will try it with dried fruit to experiment. I’m thinking dried cranberries and apricots and then a  sprinkle of pumpkin seeds at the end. mmmmmm. I bet frozen fruit would work well to; mangoes and peaches.

 

Recipe;

1 cup uncooked quinoa (rinsed if the package does not already say washed)

2 1/4 cups water (1/4 cup more if your fruit is dried)

1 small pint blueberries

2 chopped spartan apples (peels on)- (about 2 cups fruit total with apples and berries)

cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice- 1 tsp each

1 tsp stevia

I turned my slow cooker on low and set the timer for 5 hours. (my slow cooker will just keep the food hot after the desired time)

Give it a shot! Add your favourite fruit and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

